Instagram had begun testing its Archive feature last month and it got officially rolled out on Tuesday, 13th June 2017.
The feature allows users to archive photos and videos they have deleted from their accounts into a space that only they can view, rather than wiping them out permanently.
Instagram made the announcement in a blog post saying,
“Today we’re introducing Archive, a new feature that lets you move posts you’ve previously shared into a space that’s visible only to you. Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time. With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter.”
How to do it?
To archive a post you’ve already shared, tap “…” at the top of the post and choose “Archive.” You’ll still be able to see it when you tap the Archive icon in the top right corner of your profile. That way, you can always revisit these posts and see previous likes and comments from friends. If you change your mind about a post you’ve archived, tap “Show on Profile” at any time and it’ll show up in its original spot.
With this update, users now have space just for them, where they can revisit moments without having to keep them all on their profile.
Learn from real practitioners not just trainers.